About us



Commercial Practices and Arbitration
Defense, security and aerospace sector

Inés de Alvear Trenor

Inés de Alvear Trenor is a partner in the commercial law practice of ProLaw Iberia Abogados. She began her professional practice in 1991 and has been practising law for more than 30 years, mainly in commercial and corporate law. Prior to joining ProLaw Iberia, she worked at Uría Menéndez, (2000-2013) where he founded the firm's defence and aerospace practice group and coordinated the Israeli country desk, and previously at the Maritime law firm Figaredo & Asociados, (1991-2000).


  • Mergers and acquisitions, share purchase agreements, branches of activity, assets.
  • Partnership agreements, shareholder contracts, joint ventures, UTE, EIGs, teaming agreements, consortia formation.
  • Corporate law, advice on structural modifications, corporate transactions, board secretaries, corporate restructuring of business groups, directors' obligations and liability, corporate governance, conflicts between shareholders.
  • Commercial agreements, contracts for the provision of services, distribution and logistics.
  • Secretary to the board and legal adviser to several boards of directors.


Inés de Alvear Trenor is one of the few legal professionals in Spain with consolidated experience in advising the defence, security, and aerospace industries since 2003. Her experience in this sector has a clear transversal orientation, including the different areas of law most present in these sectors:

  • Establishment of investment or procurement vehicles (SPVs); teaming agreements to develop joint procurement strategies.
  • Consortia negotiation and incorporation.
  • Advice to foreign investors on defence-related activities: prior investment authorisation, legal framework for defence activities - compliance -, due diligence processes for investors and financiers.
  • Regulatory advice: access to sectoral registers (DGAM) and prior formalities.
  • Foreign trade licences and authorisations for defence and dual-use products.
  • Appeals against administrative contracting resolutions: against specifications, procedural acts or resolutions: administrative and contentious-administrative procedures.
  • Government procurement: public tendering processes for defence programmes, establishment of the most appropriate procurement vehicles (joint ventures, EIGs, joint ventures), negotiation of government procurement specifications, negotiation of the various subcontracts in the supply chain and subcontracting of major defence programmes.


Since 1999, Inés de Alvear Trenor has acted in numerous arbitration proceedings before different national and international institutions (ICC Paris, CAM Madrid, CIMA, CC Sweden) as counsel representing parties, as chairman of Arbitral Tribunals and as Sole Arbitrator in disputes arising from:

  • SPA´s (reps& warranties, indemnities, purchase price adjustments)
  • Shareholder´s Agreements
  • Partnership agreements
  • Joint venture agreements
  • Put & Call options
  • Non-compete clauses
  • Quantum analysis

    • Guest lecturer at IE Law School (Madrid) and Universitat Jaume I (Castellón). Speaker at multiple professional fora.
    • 2010 Defence Prize for his work "Public-Private Collaboration in Defence and Security Programmes: Contractual Framework".


    • Member of the Commission for Challenges and Authorisation of Third-Party Intervention of the Court of Arbitration of the Madrid Chamber of Commerce and Industry.
    • Arbitrator of the Madrid Court of Arbitration. Madrid Chamber of Commerce and Industry
    • Jury of the Ministry of Defence's Defence Awards


    • Degree in Law Universidad Complutense de Madrid, 1991.


    • Spanish
    • English
    • French


    • Madrid Bar Association
    • Defence and Security Technologies Circle Foundation
    • Spain-Israel Chamber of Commerce and Industry

    Share this page:

Contact with Inés de Alvear Trenor

Inés de Alvear Trenor

You can contact with Inés de Alvear Trenor by the following media:

Cel.: +34 629855576
Tel.: +34 917342900


Jesús Vadillo Gutiérrez

María Luisa Corral González-Baylín

Guillermo Hernández González-Meneses

Íñigo Álvarez de Toledo

Arantxa Arroyo de Francisco

Sofía Fuentes Nieto

Juan Garnica Berga

Inés de Alvear Trenor

José Aguado Peña

Pablo Arias Medina

Elisa Arsuaga Santos

Mª Jesús Bravo Mora

Gema Campillos García

María del Valle Gili Ruiz

Eduardo Estébanez Alonso

Beatriz Celeste Lara Argüello

Íñigo Molero Menéndez

Myriam Otero Moyano

Paloma Torres del Molino Artieda